The Force Awakens One of 112 Film Scores Eligible for Oscar Nomination

Fans around the world have finally had the opportunity to experience Star Wars: The Force Awakens this Thursday evening, and one of the things they’re sure to be humming on their way out of the theater is that iconic Star Wars theme. The exciting news is that the epic score is one of the 112 contenders for a nomination for Best Original Score at the 2016 Academy Awards.

If nominated, The Force Awakens will be John Williams’ 50th Oscar nomination, and the 4th overall Best Score nomination for the Star Wars franchise. While it has been debated that Williams’ relied too heavily on past works while composing this new score, it can’t be denied that his continued use of the iconic themes is still one of the marks of an excellently developed score.

The Force Awakens beats out scores like Atticus Ross’ Love & Mercy, due to using samples of the film’s subjects own work in addition to his own orchestrations. The Revenant also failed to make the eligibility list due to listing three composers, and by Academy rules scores by more than one composer are not eligible.

Academy rules state: “To be eligible, the original score most be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer. Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.”

The Force Awakens certainly managed to impress fans with its score this week, but will it impress Academy voters? We won’t find out until nominations are announced January 14.

Here’s a full list of the 112 eligible film scores:

Adult Beginners, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
The Age of Adaline, Rob Simonsen, composer
Altered Minds, Edmund Choi, composer
Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
Anomalisa, Carter Burwell, composer
Ant-Man, Christophe Beck, composer
Beasts of No Nation, Dan Romer, composer
The Big Short, Nicholas Britell, composer
Black Mass, Tom Holkenborg, composer
Bridge of Spies, Thomas Newman, composer
Brooklyn, Michael Brook, composer
Burnt, Rob Simonsen, composer
By the Sea, Gabriel Yared, composer
Carol, Carter Burwell, composer
Cartel Land, H. Scott Salinas and Jackson Greenberg, composers
Chi-Raq, Terence Blanchard, composer
Cinderella, Patrick Doyle, composer
Coming Home, Qigang Chen, composer
Concussion, James Newton Howard, composer
Creed, Ludwig Goransson, composer
The Danish Girl, Alexandre Desplat, composer
The Divergent Series: Insurgent, Joseph Trapanese, composer
Dukhtar, Peter Nashel, composer
The End of the Tour, Danny Elfman, composer
Everest, Dario Marianelli, composer
Ex Machina, Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow, composers
Far From the Madding Crowd, Craig Armstrong, composer
Fifty Shades of Grey, Danny Elfman, composer
5 Flights Up, David Newman, composer
Frame by Frame, Patrick Jonsson, composer
Freedom, James Lavino, composer
Furious 7, Brian Tyler, composer
The Good Dinosaur, Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna, composers
Goosebumps, Danny Elfman, composer
Grandma, Joel P. West, composer
The Hateful Eight, Ennio Morricone, composer
He Named Me Malala, Thomas Newman, composer
Hot Pursuit, Christophe Beck, composer
Hot Tub Time Machine 2, Christophe Beck, composer
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2, James Newton Howard, composer
The Hunting Ground, Miriam Cutler, composer
I Smile Back, Zack Ryan, composer
I’ll See You in My Dreams, Keegan DeWitt, composer
In the Heart of the Sea, Roque Baños, composer
Inside Out, Michael Giacchino, composer
The Intern, Theodore Shapiro, composer
It Follows, Disasterpeace, composer
Jalam, Ouesppachan, composer
Jurassic World, Michael Giacchino, composer
Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet, Gabriel Yared, composer
Kingsman: The Secret Service, Henry Jackman and Matthew Margeson, composers
Krampus, Douglas Pipes, composer
La Jaula de Oro, Jacobo Lieberman and Leonardo Heiblum, composers
The Lady in the Van, George Fenton, composer
The Last Witch Hunter, Steve Jablonsky, composer
Learning to Drive, Dhani Harrison and Paul Hicks, composers
Legend, Carter Burwell, composer
Little Accidents, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
The Longest Ride, Mark Isham, composer
Mad Max: Fury Road, Tom Holkenborg, composer
The Man from U.N.C.L.E., Daniel Pemberton, composer
The Martian, Harry Gregson-Williams, composer
Max, Trevor Rabin, composer
Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, John Paesano, composer
Meru, J. Ralph, composer
Minions, Heitor Pereira, composer
Mr. Holmes, Carter Burwell, composer
Mistress America, Dean Wareham and Britta Phillips, composers
My All American, John Paesano, composer
Nachom-ia Kumpasar, Ronnie Monsorate, composer
99 Homes, Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales, composers
Our Brand Is Crisis, David Wingo, composer
Pan, John Powell, composer
Paper Towns, Son Lux, composer
Paranoid Girls, Javier del Santo, composer
Pawn Sacrifice, James Newton Howard, composer
The Peanuts Movie, Christophe Beck, composer
Pixels, Henry Jackman, composer
Poached, Mark Orton, composer
Pod, Giona Ostinelli, composer
Poltergeist, Marc Streitenfeld, composer
Racing Extinction, J. Ralph, composer
Room, Stephen Rennicks, composer
Salt Bridge, Marciano Telese, composer
San Andreas, Andrew Lockington, composer
The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Thomas Newman, composer
Set Fire to the Stars, Gruff Rhys, composer
Shaun the Sheep Movie, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
Sicario, Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
Southpaw, James Horner, composer
Spectre, Thomas Newman, composer
The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water, John Debney, composer
Spotlight, Howard Shore, composer
Spy, Theodore Shapiro, composer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, John Williams, composer
Steve Jobs, Daniel Pemberton, composer
Steve McQueen: The Man & Le Mans, Jim Copperthwaite, composer
Stonewall, Rob Simonsen, composer
Suffragette, Alexandre Desplat, composer
Taken 3, Nathaniel Mechaly, composer
Ted 2, Walter Murphy, composer
Testament of Youth, Max Richter, composer
The 33, James Horner, composer
Tomorrowland, Michael Giacchino, composer
True Story, Marco Beltrami, composer
Trumbo, Theodore Shapiro, composer
Truth, Brian Tyler, composer
Victor Frankenstein, Craig Armstrong, composer
The Walk, Alan Silvestri, composer
The Water Diviner, David Hirschfelder, composer
Wolf Totem, James Horner, composer
Z for Zachariah, Heather McIntosh, composer