GeekyNews Weekly Music Round-Up


Welcome to GeekyNews’ weekly music round-up! Sundays are all about what’s been happening in the music world. From festivals to awards, videos to albums, and big releases to all around going-ons, we’ll have it all. Plus, the end of each round-up will feature my top 5 must-listen songs of the week.

Lamars, Swifts, and Weeknds, Oh My!: Grammy Nominations Announced

They’re here!! The long-awaited 2016 Grammy Nominations were announced this week and are filled with the most talked about, record-setting, Internet famous artists of the past year. It is no surprise that, after an amazing year of album releases, Kendrick Lamar leads the pack with 11 total nominations with Taylor Swift and The Weeknd tied for second with 7 nominations each. Most of the 2015′s big singles were acknowledged as well, including Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars’”Uptown Funk” and Charlie Puth and Wiz Khalifa’s Furious 7 track, “See You Again”. This year’s eclectic nominations have something for everyone so make sure to cheer on your favorites during the February 15 ceremony. Now the question is, what surprises will show up on the Grammy stage this time?

Record of the Year:

  • “Really Love” – D’Angelo And The Vanguard
  • “Uptown Funk” – Mark Ronson Featuring Bruno Mars
  • “Thinking Out Loud” – Ed Sheeran
  • “Blank Space” – Taylor Swift
  • “Can’t Feel My Face” – The Weeknd

Album of the Year:

  • Sound & Color – Alabama Shakes
  • To Pimp A Butterfly – Kendrick Lamar
  • Traveller – Chris Stapleton
  • 1989 – Taylor Swift
  • Beauty Behind The Madness - The Weeknd

Song of the Year:

  • “Alright”
  • “Blank Space”
  • “Girl Crush”
  • “See You Again”
  • “Thinking Out Loud”

Best New Artist:

  • Courtney Barnett
  • James Bay
  • Sam Hunt
  • Tori Kelly
  • Meghan Trainor

You can view the full list of nominees here.

The 1975 Share Album Tracklist + New Song “UGH!”

We may still have a little time left in 2015, but it’s never too early to get excited about all the amazing albums coming out in 2016. After hearing the newest song from The 1975, I am totally ready to fast forward to the new year. The band released the second single off of their 2nd release, I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it, a funky track called “UGH!”. It compliments the album’s first single, “Love Me”, perfectly, creating a coherent sound that will hopefully follow throughout the album. In addition, the band released the full tracklist for their release, a whopping 17 songs which you can view below. The album (which name I won’t repeat because it’s so long) is set to drop on February 26. 

1. The 1975
2. Love Me
3. UGH!
4. A Change of Heart
5. She’s American
6. If I Believe You
7. Please Be Naked
8. Lostmyhead
9. The Ballad Of Me And My Brain
10. Somebody Else
11. Loving Someone
12. I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
13. The Sound
14. This Must Be My Dream
15. Paris
16. Nana
17. She Lays Down

American Authors Head Back to Their Roots with “Pride”

We haven’t heard much from American Authors after their 2014 breakout album, Oh, What a Life (you probably remember jamming to their single “Best Day of My Life” at one point or another). The band does seem to be coming back though, releasing their second song of 2015 this week. “Pride” is a banjo driven song that chronicles the band’s connection to their roots and their fans. The video fits the song perfectly, a mix of concert footage and gorgeous Colorado scenery. Frontman Zac Barnett talked a bit about the meaning behind the video, stating,

We shot the video for Pride in Denver, Colorado not only because of the amazing landscape but also our incredibly talented videographer friends are based there. Together we wanted to show that life’s journey has ups and downs and different paths that take us where we want to go. We all have to cross bridges and climb mountains and take the road less traveled to become who we are in the world.

Does this mean we’ll be getting a new American Authors album in 2016? We’ll just have to wait and see!

See What Else We’re Excited About:

  • Get excited Taylor Swift fans because the The 1989 World Tour Live! is coming to your computer screens! The recording of her show in Sydney, Australia will allow fans to experience all the features of the spectacular show plus behind the scenes footage and special guest performances. You can find it on Apple Music on December 20. Oh, and happy birthday, Miss Swift!
  • Carly Rae Jepsen is going on the road in the U.S. next year for her Gimmie Love tour. You can see a full list of dates on her website.
  • Charlie Puth and Selena Gomez teased a new song together this week on Instagram. The duo lip-syncs and dances to Puth’s “We Don’t Talk Anymore” from his upcoming album, which hints at Gomez’s involvement with the track.
  • Max Schneider (aka MAX) announced his newest EP this week, featuring three new songs and a remix of his recent radio hint, “Gibberish”. Wrong will be available on December 18.

Songs of the Week:

5. “My Gun” – Tove Lo

4. “Come Get Some”  – Counterfeit

3. “LA Devotee”   – Panic! at the Disco

2. “Army of One” – Coldplay

1. “Satisfied”  – Original Broadway Cast of Hamilton

  • Steve Perry

    Here’s a very good Rihanna fan site for everybody to check out, LOTS of new photos!

  • Jess

    Can’t believe this!!!! I can spread my shit all over Geeky and no one will pay attention, yay!!!!! Melissa won’t notice, hopefully. *grins* I’ve got a venting point at last, no more Tumble, just Geeky, if anyone notices that is.